Mark Fendrick, MD

Dr. Mark Fendrick directs the Value-Based Insurance Design Center at the University of Michigan. Dr. Fendrick’s research focuses on payment and engagement initiatives to improve healthcare access, quality and costs. Dr. Fendrick is a member of the National Academy of Medicine, serves on the Medicare Coverage Advisory Committee, and has been invited to present testimony before the U.S. Senate Committee on Health, Education, Labor and Pensions, the U.S. House of Representatives Ways and Means Subcommittee on Health, and the U.S. Senate Committee on Armed Services Subcommittee on Personnel. Dr. Fendrick is the co-editor-in-chief of The American Journal of Managed Care and is an editorial board member for 3 additional peer-reviewed publications.

Benjamin Scirica, MD MPH

Dr. Benjamin Scirica is an Associate Professor of Medicine at Harvard Medical School, the Director of Quality Initiatives at Brigham and Women’s Hospital and a Senior Investigator at the TIMI Study Group, where he is director of the Electrocardiography Core Laboratory. His clinical and research interests include assessing novel therapeutic agents and developing electrocardiography and cardiac biomarkers, improving delivery of care and inter-disciplinary communications and improving risk stratification and cardiovascular disease treatment. He has authored over 100 peer-reviewed publications, serves on the editorial board of ACCEL, and is a reviewer for multiple journals, including The Lancet, Circulation and Journal of the American College of Cardiology (JACC).

Guy David, PhD

Dr. David is the Chair of Health Care Management and the Gilbert and Shelley Harrison Professor of Health Care Management at Wharton and Professor of Medical Ethics and Health Policy at the Perelman School of Medicine at the University of Pennsylvania. His research on emergency medical services, home health care, primary care, patient-centered medical homes, retainer based medicine, specialty hospitals, and ambulatory surgery centers has yielded insights into how individuals, firms, and regulators interact across the continuum of care. Dr. David is a research associate at the National Bureau of Economic Research, an associate editor of the American Journal of Health Economics and co-editor-in-chief of the International Journal of Health Economics and Management. 

Michael Chernew, PhD

Dr. Chernew is the Leonard D. Schaeffer Professor of Health Care Policy and the Director of the Healthcare Markers and Regulation Lab at Harvard Medical School. Dr. Chernew’s research examines several areas related to improving the health care system including studies of novel benefit designs, Medicare Advantage, alternative payment models, low value care and the causes and consequences of rising health care spending. Dr. Chernew is currently serving as the Chair of Medicare Payment Advisory Commission (MedPAC) while previously serving as the Vice Chair from 2012-2014 and a Member from 2008-2012. In 2000, 2004 and 2010, he served on technical advisory panels for the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS). He is a member of the Congressional Budget Office’s Panel of Health Advisors and Vice Chair of the Massachusetts Health Connector Board. Dr. Chernew is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, a research associate at the National Bureau of Economic Research and a senior Visiting Fellow at MITRE. He is currently a co-editor of the American Journal of Managed Care.

Lauren Aronson

Lauren Aronson is a health policy expert and serves as a partner at Mehlman Castagnetti Rosen & Thomas. Prior to joining the firm, Aronson spent three years at the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), where she directed the Office of Legislation and led the Agency’s interactions with Capitol Hill. Before joining CMS, Aronson served as a Professional Staff Member for the House Ways and Means Committee, working on Medicare Advantage and Medicare Part D payment policies. Aronson served in the White House under President Obama as the Policy Director in the Office of Health Reform. She was a key member of the Administration’s team working to enact the Affordable Care Act, President Obama’s signature health care law.